The St. Helens Referees' Society has been in existence since before the Second World War. The Society has a copy of the minutes from the first meeting on 7th November 1919.

It is understood that the Society ceased to exist during the War and was restarted shortly thereafter by Mr Alf Moran and Mr James Craig who were Chairman and Secretary of the St Helens Combination.

The Society has had a number of homes over the years including; The YMCA, The White Hart on the old Greenalls Brewery site, The Scarisbrick Arms, The Lamb Hotel, The Travellers Rest and finally the Societies current home, Greenalls Social Club.

The move from The Lamb Hotel to The Travellers Rest also coincided with change of meeting night from a Tuesday to a Monday.

The Society has had a steady membership over the years and is currently proud to be one of the few societies in the area that has increased its member numbers. The Society currently has between 25 and 30members.

The Society has a very proactive committee that has been led over the years by some very knowledgeable and experienced Chairmen. Peter Nurse is the current Chairman. He is a Level 1 Futsal referee who has refereed both domestic cup finals as well as at international tournaments.

The Society has also had many experienced referees on its committee. Len Kelly, who is an ex-football league official, has been Chairman and President of the Society. John Cowley, also an ex-football league official, has been Chairman and President of the Society.

Other Chairmen include Derek Cleveland, who was Chairman for 3 years before becoming Referees' Secretary at Liverpool County FA.

Our current Treasurer, John Blackburn, was a referee on the Unibond Northern Premier League and our previous Secretary, Mark Lyth, was a referee on the North West Counties Football League. The current Secretary is Bryan Kennedy.

Stephen Clarke is our Training Officer and a F.A. Tutor. He is responsible for the training of all new referees in the St Helens area.

Our President is Terry Roscoe who was formally an FA Licensed Referee Instructor.

Other notable members and former members include Kevin Taylor, David Watkins, William Roberts, Arthur Mimmack and current Select Group Referee, Chris Foy.

Other former members include:

Harry Picket

Sid Green

Ken Broughton

Albert Perry

Joe McComas

Ken Barton

Derek Martin

Alf Smith

Fred Howard

Jack Barron

Jack Mitchell

Ronnie Earps

Bill Bold

Billy Ellam

Roy Thomas

Stuart Rimmer

Gilly Ryan

Gordon Sanders

Jack Birchall

George Dingsdale

George Foster

Barry Kilgallon